The City of Gladewater is a Home Rule City with a Council-Manager form of government. The City Council consists of seven members; six Council members and a Mayor. Five members constitute a quorum.

City Council members are elected at large, by position number, and serve two year terms, with no term limits. Positions 1, 2 & 3 are elected in even-numbered years, with the mayor designated as position number 1. Positions 4, 5, 6 & 7 are elected in odd-numbered years. By virtue of the City Charter, the Mayor and City Council members are compensated $100 per year for their services.

Regular City Council meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at Gladewater City Hall located at 519 E. Broadway.


The City of Gladewater City Council's Budgets, Agendas and Minutes are published on this site. (click here for access)


The City of Gladewater's City Ordinances and Charter are available for download from this site. (click here for access)