The purpose of the Planning & Zoning Commission is to regulate the platting and recording of subdivisions or additions situated within the corporate limits, or within one mile of such city. The Commission also makes recommendations to the City Council for zoning changes and routes of streets, avenues and boulevards, including the opening, widening and abandonment of the same, or of any alley or the changing thereof.

The Planning & Zoning Commission meet on call only on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 5:30 in the Council chambers at City Hall.

The Commission consists of seven members for a two year term, must be a citizen of the City and serves without pay. The members are appointed by the Mayor and be approved by a majority of the Council.

The current Commission members are as follows:


11/12-11/14 Margaret Bell
11/13-11/15 Mark Frient - Vice Chairman
11/12-11/14 Ann Clay
11/13-11/15 Linda Dougan
11/12-11/14 Marlene Downing
11/13-11/15 Sheila Faggans


Harry Sutphen